Disability Focus: Federal COVID Relief Act (CARES)
The National Disability Institute has a great review of the federal COVID-19 relief package (CARES) signed into law on March 29.  Check it out here. Read More...
Federal COVID Package: What It Includes (and Doesn't)
(March 27, 2020)   Yesterday the Senate uanimously passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act (S. 3548). Read the... Read More...
Legislative Session Shuts Down Amid Coronavirus Fears
The Iowa Legislature announced session will be suspended for at least 30 days.  That means legislators will not be at the Capitol until at least... Read More...
Key Bills Stalled on House Calendar
Two bills that are supported by Disbility Rights Iowa and the Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council survived the first legislative deadline two... Read More...
JOIN US! Monthly Advocacy Calls
This year, we will be hosting monthly call-ins to give advocates with disabilities a chance to ask questions about the issues being discussed at the... Read More...

Our Network

Medical Cannabidiol (CBD) Expansion - HF 732

More articles »

House File 732 made several changes to Iowa's medical CBD program, including allowing physican assistants and nurse practioners to authorize use, allowing dispensaries to hire pharmacists, allowing individuals with felony convictions to access these medications, and replacing the current 3% THC cap (the part of the cannabis plant that gets you high) with a 90-day 25 gram allowance.  The Governor vetoed this bill, so it will be a priorty of legislators in 2020.  Only 10 of the 150 legislators voted against the bill:

Representatives (3/26/19)

Yes (96): Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Bacon, Bearinger Bennett, Bergan, Bossman, Breckenridge, Brown-Powers, Brink, Carlson, Cohoon, Derry, Deyoe, Dolecheck Donahue, Ehlert, Fisher, Forbes, Fry, Gaines, Gaskill, Gassman, Gerhold, Grassley, Hagenow, Hall, Hanusa, Heddens, Hein, Hinson, Hite, Holt, Hunter, Huseman, Isenhart, Jacobsen, Jacoby, James, Jeneary, Jones, Judge, Kacena, Kaufmann, Kerr, Klein, Konfrst, Kressig, Kurth, Kurtz, Landon, Lensing, Lohse, Lundgren, Mascher, Matson, Maxwell, McConkey, McKean, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Mitchell, Mohr, Mommsen, Moore, Nielsen, Oldson, Olson, Osmundson, Ourth, Paustian, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, Salmon, Sexton, Shipley, Sieck, M. Smith, R. Smith, Sorensen, Staed, Steckman, Sunde, Thede, Thompson, Thorup, Upmeyer, Wessel-Kroeschell, Williams, Wills, Winckler, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan, Zumbach

No (3): Baxter, Gustafson, Wheeler

Absent/Not Voting (1): Bloomingdale

Senators (4/27/19)

Yes (40): Bisignano, Bolkcom, Boulton, Brown, Celsi, Chapman, Cournoyer, Dotzler, Edler, Feenstra, Giddens, Greene, Guth, Hogg, Jochum, Johnson, Kapucian, Kinney, Koelker, Kraayenbrink, Lofgren, Mathis, Miller-Meeks, Nunn, Petersen, Quirmbach, Ragan, Rozenboom, Schneider, Schultz, Segebart, Shipley, Sinclair, J. Smith, R. Smith,  Sweeney, R. Taylor, Wahls, Whitver, Zaun, Zumbach

No (7): Behn, Breitbach, Carlin, Costello, Feenstra, Garrett, Whiting

Absent/Not Voting (3): Dawson, Lykam, T. Taylor