Jump to content
CALL TO ACTION: Contact Congress
Republicans now have a plan for the next COVID-19 assistance package. It is very different from the plan from the Democrats. Congress and the White... Read More...
ACTION ALERT: Congressional COVID Relief Needs Disability Focus
Senate Republicans continued to hammer out the details of a fourth COVID-19 relief package, which Senate Majority Leader McConnell (R-KY) has... Read More...
Iowans with Disabilities Face Danger, Isolation During COVID-19
The Des Moines Register featured a great article on the challenges Iowans with disabilities face during the COVID-19 outbreak.  Titled "Iowans with... Read More...
Governor Finishes Signing 2020 Bills into Law
Governor Kim Reynolds finished signing the 113 bills sent to her during this year's legislative session.  She line-item vetoed the budget bill,... Read More...
DD Council Ask Governor to Veto Changes to Voting by Mail
The Iowa Legislative Session finsihed its work on June 14; our next issue of infoNET will be published after the Govenror takes action on the 113... Read More...

Our Network

MH/DS REGIONAL FUNDING (SF 504) - Senate & House Vote

More articles »

(March 18 & 20, 2017) Iowa's 14 mental health and disability services (MH/DS) regions have been stuck with a funding system that was based on 1995 budgets.  SF 504 allows regions to levy a per capita rate that is the same for all counties in the region, and requires counties with large fund balances to spend those down over a four-year period.  Two regions are not helped by this plan - Eastern Iowa (Scott County is $3 million short) and Polk County ($6.3 million short).  Scott County is instructed to use fund balances to get them through, and DHS will work with them on other ways to bridge the gap. Polk County will get through by using their county hospital (Broadlawns) taxes over the next three years.  An interim committee is set up for 2018 to review what to do about these "outlier" regions, and review if the "patch" is really a "fix" for everyone else.


Senate Vote (March 18, 2017)

YES (46):  Allen, Behn, Bolkcom, Bowman, Breitbach, Brown, Chapman, Chelgren, Costello, Danielson, Dawson, Dix, Dotzler, Dvorsky, Edler, Feenstra, Garrett, Greene, Guth, Hart, Hogg, Horn, Jochum, C. Johnson, D. Johnson, Kapucian, Kinney, Kraayenbrink, Lofgren, Lykam, Mathis, Quirmbach, Ragan,  Rozenboom, Schneider, Schultz, Segebart, Sinclair, Smith,  Taylor, Whitver, Zaun, Zumbach 

NO (4): Bisignano, Boulton, McCoy, Petersen


House Vote (March 20, 2017)

YES (98):  Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Bacon, Baltimore, Baudler, Baxter, Bearinger, Bennett, Bergen, Best, Bloomingdale, Breckenridge, Brown-Powers, Carlin, Carlson, Cohoon, Cownie, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Finkenauer, Fisher, Forbes, Fry, Gaines, Gaskill, Gassman, Grassley, Gustafson, Hagenow, Hager, Hall, Hanson, Hanusa, Heartsill, Heaton, Heddens, Hein, Highfill, Hinson, Holt, Holz, Hunter, Huseman, Isenhart, Jones, Kacena, Kaufmann, Kearns, Kerr, Klein, Koester, Kressig, Kurth, Landon, Lensing, Lundgren, Mascher, Maxwell, McConkey, McKean, Meyer, Miller, Mohr, Mommsen, Moore, Nielsen, Nunn, Olson, Ourth, Paustian, Pettengill, Rizer, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Salmon, Sexton, Sheets, Sieck, R. Smith, Staed, Steckman, R. Taylor., T. Taylor, Thede, Upmeyer, Vander Linden, Watts, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wills, Winckler, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan, Zumbach

NO (1): M. Smith

ABSENT (1): Forristall