Democratic Caucus Accommodation Requests Due January 27
Iowa's first-in-the-nation caucuses are just a few weeks away and both political parties have been working hard to make sure these caucuses are the... Read More...
JOIN US! Monthly Advocacy Calls
This year, we will be hosting monthly call-ins to give advocates with disabilities a chance to ask questions about the issues being discussed at the... Read More...
Updated 2020 Caucus Materials Available!
Never been to a caucus? Don't know what to expect? Want to know more?  Our user-friendly guide and resources can help you get ready and be prepared... Read More...
New Senate Human Resources Committee Chair
Iowa Senate Republicans announced a new Chair of the Senate Human Resources Committee, which addresses issues like disability services, health care,... Read More...
Iowa DD Council 2019 Priorities
The Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council, which sponsors infoNET, has released their 2019 State Legislative Priorities.  Top on their list is... Read More...

Our Network

VOTER ID (HF 516) - Senate Vote

More articles »

(March 27, 2017) Iowans would have to show their ID to vote under this proposed legislation. The bill (HF 516) as amended by the Senate also makes changes to absentee ballot request and voter registration timelines, shortens early voting by 11 days (from 40 to 29 days before the election), requires counties to perform post-election audits, allows 17-year-olds to register to vote and to vote in a primary if they will be 18 by the general election, and requires counties to move to an elecronic voter check-in system (e-pollbook).  The bill (as amended) passed the Senate 26-21. 

YES (26): Behn, Breitbach, Brown, Chapman, Chelgren, Costello, Dawson, Dix, Edler, Feenstra, Garrett, Greene, Guth, C. Johnson, Kapucian, Kraayenbrink, Lofgren, Rozenboom, Schneider, Schultz, Segebart, Sinclair, Smith, Whitver, Zaun, Zumbach 

NO (21): Allen, Bisignano, Bolkcom, Boulton, Bowman, Danielson, Dotzler, Dvorsky, Hart, Hogg, Horn, Jochum, D. Johnson, Kinney, Lykam, Mathis, McCoy, Petersen, Quirmbach, Ragan, Taylor

ABSENT (3): Anderson, Bertrand, Shipley