Iowa DD Council 2019 Priorities
The Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council, which sponsos infoNET, has released its 2019 State Legislative Priorities.  Top on their list is... Read More...
infoNET Gets New Design!
Check out the new design for our newsletter!  Issue one is available now here. Read More...
2019-2020 Legislative Guide Available
Our popular 2019-2020 Guide to the Iowa Legislature is back! You can see an online version here, but watch your mailboxes!  Our e-mail and mail... Read More...
Governor Announces 2019 Priorities, Releases Budget Recommendations
Governor Reynolds delivered her "Condition of the State" address today and specifically called for sustainable funding for the adult mental health and... Read More...
The 2019 Legislative Session Begins!
The Iowa Legislature is back in session!  Today is the first day of the 110-day state legislative session.  The 150 legislators that represent Iowans... Read More...

Our Network

New Legislative Leaders Announced (UPDATED)

More articles »

The Senate Republicans and Democrats, and House Republicans and Democrats held their initial post-election caucuses and elected their leaders for the 2019 session.  The list is still incomplete; House Republicans were missing ten of their members due to weather, so they postponed the election of assistant majority leaders until their December policy caucus.

Senate Republican (Majority) Leadership Team:
Senator Jack Whitver (Ankeny) - Senate Majority Leader
Senator Charles Schneider (West Des Moines) - President of the Senate
Senator Jerry Behn (Boone) - President Pro Tempore of the Senate
Senator Amy Sinclair (Allerton) - Senate Majority Whip
  • Senator Waylon Brown (St. Ansgar) - Asst. Majority Leader
  • Senator Jake Chapman (Adel) - Asst. Majority Leader
  • Senator Randy Feenstra (Hull) - Asst. Majority Leader
  • Senator Dan Zumbach  (Ryan) - Asst. Majority Leader 
Senate Democrat (Minority) Leadership Team:
Senator Janet Petersen (Des Moines) - Senate Minority Leader
Senator Amanda Ragan (Mason City) - Senate Minority Whip
  • Senator Joe Bolkcom (Iowa City) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Senator Bill Dotzler (Waterloo) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Senator Pam Jochum (Dubuque) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Senator Liz Mathis (Hiawatha) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Senator Herman Quirmbach (Ames) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Senator Rich Taylor (Mount Pleasant) - Asst. Minority Leader
House Republican (Majority) Leadership Team:
Representative Linda Upmeyer (Clear Lake) - Speaker of the House
Representative Chris Hagenow (Urbandale) - House Majority Leader
Representative Matt Windschitl (Missouri Valley) - Speaker Pro Tempore 
Representative John Wills (Spirit Lake) - House Majority Whip
  • Assistant Leaders TBD later
House Democrat (Minority) Leadership Team:
Representative Todd Prichard (Charles City) - House Minority Leader
Representative Jo Oldson (Des Moines) - House Minority Whip
  • Representative Wes Breckenridge (Newton) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Representative John Forbes (Urbandale) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Representative Brian Meyer (Des Moines) - Asst. Minority Leader
  • Representative Sharon Steckman (Mason City) - Asst. Minority Leader