Legislative Leaders Agree on Spending
Senate and House leaders have agreed to a joint budget target (that is, how much they will spend on each area of the budget for the fiscal year... Read More...
Find Out Which Bills Survived the Funnel!
Today (April 5) was the second and final legislative "funnel" deadline. Any bills that didn't make it out of committee in both the House and Senate... Read More...
UHC Pulls Out of Iowa
United Health Care will become the second Medicaid managed care organization to leave Iowa.  UHC currently gets $2 billion in combined state and... Read More...
Iowa DD Council 2019 Priorities
The Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council, which sponsors infoNET, has released their 2019 State Legislative Priorities.  Top on their list is... Read More...
2019-2020 Legislative Guide Available
Our popular 2019-2020 Guide to the Iowa Legislature is back! You can see an online version here, but watch your mailboxes!  Our e-mail and mail... Read More...

Our Network

More Changes in Iowa Legislature

More articles »

More news this week!  Two major changes in the Iowa Legislature:

  • New Contact on Tax Issues: Rep. Guy Vander Linden (R-Oskaloosa) is retiring this year, so he has stepped down as Chair of the House Ways & Means Committee.  Rep. Peter Cownie (R-West Des Moines) will take over as Chair immediately; he has been on that committee since 2011 and managed debate on this year's tax bill.  This does not mean he will stay on through the 2019 session, but he will be the main point of contact on tax-related issues over the summer.  Committee chairs are appointed by the party in control, so the decisions for 2019 depend on the outcome of the November elections.
  • Legislator Resigns Ahead of Retirement: Rep. Ken Rizer (R-Marion) has decided to retire a few months earlier than expected.  Rep. Rizer, who is not seeking re-election this year, announced he has taken a job flying private jets out of Des Moines and needs to resign from public office effective May 25.  Because the legislative session is over, the Governor will not call a special election.  Rizer's successor will be chosen in the General Election on November 6.  Currently running for that House seat (HD-68) are Randy Ray (Republican), Molly Donahue (Democrat) and Soctt Foens (Democrat).  The Democrats will face off against each other in the June 6 primary.