Democratic Caucus Accommodation Requests Due January 27
Iowa's first-in-the-nation caucuses are just a few weeks away and both political parties have been working hard to make sure these caucuses are the... Read More...
JOIN US! Monthly Advocacy Calls
This year, we will be hosting monthly call-ins to give advocates with disabilities a chance to ask questions about the issues being discussed at the... Read More...
Updated 2020 Caucus Materials Available!
Never been to a caucus? Don't know what to expect? Want to know more?  Our user-friendly guide and resources can help you get ready and be prepared... Read More...
New Senate Human Resources Committee Chair
Iowa Senate Republicans announced a new Chair of the Senate Human Resources Committee, which addresses issues like disability services, health care,... Read More...
Iowa DD Council 2019 Priorities
The Iowa Developmental Disabilities Council, which sponsors infoNET, has released their 2019 State Legislative Priorities.  Top on their list is... Read More...

Our Network

MEDICAL CANNABIS (HF 524) - House & Senate Vote

More articles »

(April 21, 2017) There were four votes on medical cannabis this year - but the final vote on the bill was on the last night of the legislative session. The final compromise allows two manufacturers to make medical cannabidiol (cannabis oil) in the state, and up to four dispensaries to sell it in the state.  People suffering from a list of "debilitating conditions" would be able to get a card allowing them to use the oil, but a doctor must sign off on a form saying they have a qualifying condition.  This is the vote on the final compromise - so you may have people against it because it went too far, or it didn't go far enough:



YES (83):  Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Bacon, Baudler, Bearinger, Bergen, Best, Bloomingdale, Breckenridge, Brown-Powers, Carlson, Cohoon, Cownie, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Finkenauer, Forbes, Fry, Gaines, Gaskill, Gassman, Grassley, Hagenow, Hager, Hall, Hanson, Hanusa, Heaton, Heddens, Hein, Highfill, Hinson, Holt, Holz, Huseman, Isenhart, Jones, Kacena, Kaufmann, Kearns, Kerr, Klein, Koester, Kressig, Kurth, Landon, Lensing, Lundgren, Maxwell, McConkey, McKean, Meyer, Mohr, Mommsen, Moore, Nielsen, Nunn, Ourth, Paustian, Pettengill, Rizer, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Salmon, Sexton, Sieck, R. Smith, Staed, Steckman, R. Taylor., T. Taylor, Thede, Upmeyer, Vander Linden, Watts, Wills, Winckler, Windschitl, Worthan, Zumbach

NO (11): Baltimore, Carlin, Fisher, Gustafson, Hunter, Mascher, Olson, M. Smith, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wolfe

ABSENT (6): Baxter, Bennett, Forristall, Heartsill, Miller, Sheets



YES (33): Anderson, Behn, Bowman, Breitbach, Brown, Chapman, Chelgren, Danielson, Dix, Dotzler, Dvorsky, Edler, Feenstra, Greene, Guth, Horn, Jochum, C. Johnson, Kapucian, Kraayenbrink, Lofgren, Quirmbach, Ragan, Rozenboom, Schneider, Schultz, Segebart, Sinclair, Smith, Whitver, Zaun, Zumbach 

NO (7): Bolkcom, Boulton, Costello, Garrett, Hogg, McCoy, Petersen

ABSENT (10): Allen, Bertrand, Bisignano, Dawson, Hart, D. Johnson, Kinney, Lykam, Mathis, Taylor