New Senate Human Resources Committee Chair
Iowa Senate Republicans announced a new Chair of the Senate Human Resources Committee, which addresses issues like disability services, health care,... Read More...
Deadline to Request Satellite Democratic Caucus Locations is November 18
The Iowa Caucuses will be held on Monday night, February 3, 2020.  Democrats can find their neighborhood caucus locations, candidate contacts, and... Read More...
2020 Caucus Guide Available
Our 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses is now available!  Read More...
Miller-Meeks Enters Congressional Race
First term State Senator Marianette Miller-Meeks announced today that she'll run for Congress in Iowa's Second Congressional District.  US Rep. Dave... Read More...
New Caucus Resources Available
We are in the process of developing our new 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses. Because there are some decisions still being made on the Democratic side,... Read More...

Our Network

VOTER ID (HF 516) - House Vote

More articles »

(March 9, 2017) Iowans would have to show their ID to vote under this proposed legislation. The bill (HF 516) also makes changes to absentee ballot request and voter registration timelines, requires counties to perform post-election audits, and requires counties to move to an elecronic voter check-in system (e-pollbook).  The bill passed the House 58-41*.

YES (58): Bacon, Baltimore, Baudler, Baxter, Bergan, Best, Bloomingdale, Carlin, Carlson, Cownie, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Fisher, Fry, Gassman, Grassley, Gustafson, Hagenow, Hager, Hanusa, Heartsill, Heaton, Hein, Highfill, Hinsman, Holt, Holz, Huseman, Jones, Kaufmann, Kerr, Klein, Koester, Landon, Lundgren, Maxwell, McKean, Mohr, Mommsen, Moore, Nunn, Paustian, Pettengill, Rizer, Rogers, Salmon, Sexton, Sheets, Sieck, R. Taylor,  Upmeyer, Vander Linden, Watts, Wheeler, Wills, Windschitl, Worthan, Zumbach

NO (41): Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Bearinger, Bennett, Breckenridge, Brown-Powers, Cohoon, Finkenauer, Forbes, Gaines, Gaskill, Hall, Hanson, Heddens, Hunter, Isenhart, Jacoby, Kacena, Kearns, Kressig, Kurth, Lensing, Mascher, McConkey, Meyer, Miller, Nielsen, Oldson, Olson, Ourth, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, M. Smith, R. Smith, Staed, Steckman, T. Taylor, Thede, Wessel-Kroeschell, Winckler, Wolfe

ABSENT (1): Forristall

*The offical vote in the House Journal is 59-40; Rep. Liz Bennett accidentally voted "for" the bill and meant to vote against, so she asked for it to be officially changed and noted.  We show the vote as amended.