Big news today out of the Department of Human Services - Director Jerry Foxhoven resigned effective immediately.  Department of Public Health Director... Read More...
Rep. Lisa Heddens (D-Ames) announces she will resign from the Iowa Legislature, prompting a special election for this Ames sweat.  Rep. Heddens is a... Read More...
Governor Finishes Actions on Bills
With just minutes to spare before the three-day Memorial Day weekend, Governor Kim Reynolds took final action on the remaining bills sent to her this... Read More...
Session Ends!
After late nights and long debates, controversy and agreement, the 2019 Iowa Legislature has adjourned for the year.  They will not come back together... Read More...
State Representative Changes Parties; Now a Democrat
As. hard as we try, we just cannot keep our Guide to the Iowa Legislature updated!!!  First, Sen. Danielson resigned early in session.  Now, Rep. Andy... Read More...

Our Network

Special Election Update

More articles »

Davenport State Senator Joe Seng died in September after a two-year battle with cancer; he was in the middle of his four-year term (Senate District 45).  A special election was held on December 27 to elect a new State Senator.  Jim Lykam, who is currently a State Representative, won this special election with 73% of the vote.  Rep. Lykam is a Democrat, as was Sen. Seng, so this seat keeps the Senate at 29 Republicans, 20 Democrats, and 1 Independent.

Rep. Lykam will resign from the House soon, and the Governor will set a date for a special election to fill his House seat (House District 89).  The Governor must give at least 18 days notice for a special election, so that means the earliest date for a special election would be January 17 (the day after Martin Luther King Day).  More likely, the Governor will select one of the following Tuesdays (January 24, January 31, or February 7).  The January dates will be right before and after the Presidential Inauguration in Washington DC, an event that many Iowa Republicans will be attending.

We don't know who will run, but we do know that the 100-member Iowa House of Representatives will begin the legislative session with 99 legislators (59 Republicans, 40 Democrats, 1 vacancy).