New Senate Human Resources Committee Chair
Iowa Senate Republicans announced a new Chair of the Senate Human Resources Committee, which addresses issues like disability services, health care,... Read More...
Deadline to Request Satellite Democratic Caucus Locations is November 18
The Iowa Caucuses will be held on Monday night, February 3, 2020.  Democrats can find their neighborhood caucus locations, candidate contacts, and... Read More...
2020 Caucus Guide Available
Our 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses is now available!  Read More...
Miller-Meeks Enters Congressional Race
First term State Senator Marianette Miller-Meeks announced today that she'll run for Congress in Iowa's Second Congressional District.  US Rep. Dave... Read More...
New Caucus Resources Available
We are in the process of developing our new 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses. Because there are some decisions still being made on the Democratic side,... Read More...

Our Network


More articles »

Legislators have begun to announce their plans for re-election or retirement.  As you know, State Representatives must run for office every two years, and State Senators every four years.  That means all 100 State Representatives will have to run for re-election in November, and half (even numbered districts) of the 50 State Senators are up for re-election.  

Anyone wishing to run for legislative office must file their paperwork by 5 pm. on Friday, March 18.  So after that date we'll know which legislators have opponents, and which legislators are calling it quits.  So far the following legislators have said they will not seek re-election: Representatives Josh Byrnes, Ron Jorgensen, John Kookier, Linda Miller, Brian Moore, Kraig Paulsen, Quentin Stanerson, and Sally Stutsman and Senator Dick Dearden.