Big news today out of the Department of Human Services - Director Jerry Foxhoven resigned effective immediately.  Department of Public Health Director... Read More...
Rep. Lisa Heddens (D-Ames) announces she will resign from the Iowa Legislature, prompting a special election for this Ames sweat.  Rep. Heddens is a... Read More...
Governor Finishes Actions on Bills
With just minutes to spare before the three-day Memorial Day weekend, Governor Kim Reynolds took final action on the remaining bills sent to her this... Read More...
Session Ends!
After late nights and long debates, controversy and agreement, the 2019 Iowa Legislature has adjourned for the year.  They will not come back together... Read More...
State Representative Changes Parties; Now a Democrat
As. hard as we try, we just cannot keep our Guide to the Iowa Legislature updated!!!  First, Sen. Danielson resigned early in session.  Now, Rep. Andy... Read More...

Our Network

2015 Committee VIPS

More articles »

When bills are proposed that make changes to or affect home and community based services, Medicaid, and other social services, they are typically assigned to the Human Resources Committee. That committee deals with most of the issues that deal with public health, Medicaid, human services, social services, day care, child welfare, and health care.  When it comes to money for these programs, it is the Health and Human Services Budget Subcommittee that makes the decisions on spending. 

We also hear from many of you that transportation and employment are also important issues. Bills making changes in these areas go through the Transportation and Economic Growth Committees, and funding for these areas goes through similar budget subcommittees.   While we will print the full committee lists in our 2015 Guide to the Iowa Legislature (to be mailed in January 2015), we wanted to give you a heads up on who will be serving on these key "VIP" committees.

Senate Human Resources Committee

Mathis (Chair)
Ragan (Vice Chair)
Johnson (Ranking Member)

Other Members: Allen, Bolkcom, Chelgren,
Dotzler, Garrett, Jochum, Segebart, Taylor,
Wilhelm (includes one open seat pending
special election)


House Human Resources Committee

Miller (Chair)
Bacon (Vice Chair)
Wessel-Kroeschell (Ranking Member)

Other Members: Abdul-Samad, Anderson,
Best, Brown-Peters, Dawson, Forristall,
Fry, Gaines, Gustafson, Heaton, Heddens,
McConkey, Rizer, Salmon, R. Taylor, Wills,
Winckler (includes one open seat pending
special election)

 Senate Economic Growth Committee

Hart (Chair)
Sodders (Vice Chair)
Chelgren (Ranking Member)

Other Members: Anderson, Bisignano,
Bowman, Breitbach, Chapman, Danielson,
Dotzler, Guth, Mathis, Schneider, Taylor,

House Economic Growth Committee

Hanusa (Chair)
Nunn (Vice Chair)
Dunkel (Ranking Member)

Other Members: Bearinger, Bennett, Best,
Carlson, Deyoe, Finkenauer, Gaskill,
Grassley, Gustafson, Isenhart, Jorgensen,
Paustian, Rogers, Running-Marquardt,
McConkey, H. Miller, Sheets, R. Taylor

Senate Transportation Committee

Bowman (Chair)
Dvorsky (Vice Chair)
Kapucian (Ranking Member)

Other Members:Brase, Breitbach, Danielson,
Dearden, Feenstra, Horn, Kraayenbrink,
McCoy, Quirmbach, Smith

House Transportation Committee

Byrnes (Chair)
Best (Vice Chair)
Lykam (Ranking Member)
Other Members: Carlson, Cohoon, Dawson,
Finkenhauer, Hanusa, Hein, Huseman.
Jacoby, Landon, Maxwell, Mommsen, Moore,
Oldson, Olson, Pettengill, Stutsman,
Wolfe, Worthan

Joint Health & Human Services
Appropriations Subcommittee

Ragan (Senate Chair)
Heaton (House Chair)
Bolkcom (Senate Vice Chair)
Best (House Vice Chair)
Segebart (Senate Ranking Member)
Heddens (House Ranking Member)

Other House Members: Bacon, Forbes,
Miller, Rizer, Stutsman, Wessel-Kroeschell

Other Senate Members: Dvorsky, Johnson

Joint Economic Development
Appropriations Subcommittee

Dotzler (Senate Chair)
Deyoe (House Chair)
Hart (Senate Vice Chair)
Baxter (House Vice Chair)
Schneider (Senate Ranking Member)
Running-Marquardt (House Ranking Member)

Other House Members: Bennett, Carlson,
Finkenhauer, Hanusa, Kressig, Sheets
Other Senate Members: Bisignano, Smith

Joint Transportation & Infrastructure
Appropriations Subcommittee

McCoy (Senate Chair)
Huseman (House Chair)
Bowman (Senate Vice Chair)
House Vice Chair OPEN
Kapucian (Senate Ranking Member)
Cohoon (House Ranking Member)
Other House Members: Dawson, Dunkel,
Lykam, Maxwell, Moore, Stanerson
Other Senate Members: Petersen, Anderson