New Senate Human Resources Committee Chair
Iowa Senate Republicans announced a new Chair of the Senate Human Resources Committee, which addresses issues like disability services, health care,... Read More...
Deadline to Request Satellite Democratic Caucus Locations is November 18
The Iowa Caucuses will be held on Monday night, February 3, 2020.  Democrats can find their neighborhood caucus locations, candidate contacts, and... Read More...
2020 Caucus Guide Available
Our 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses is now available!  Read More...
Miller-Meeks Enters Congressional Race
First term State Senator Marianette Miller-Meeks announced today that she'll run for Congress in Iowa's Second Congressional District.  US Rep. Dave... Read More...
New Caucus Resources Available
We are in the process of developing our new 2020 Guide to the Iowa Caucuses. Because there are some decisions still being made on the Democratic side,... Read More...

Our Network

FEDERAL ELECTION RESULTS: Voters Send Four of Iowa's Five Congressmen Back to DC

More articles »

Iowa’s two US Senators didn’t face the voters this year, but all of Iowa’s US Representatives did, and one won’t be returning to Washington DC next year.  Iowans voted to re-elect Representatives Bruce Braley, Steve King, Tom Latham, and Dave Loebsack. Representative Leonard Boswell lost his election.

Because our population didn’t grow fast enough over the last ten years, Iowa lost a congressional seat, going from five US Representatives to four. That forced two of Iowa’s US Representatives to face off in this election – Rep. Tom Latham and Rep. Leonard Boswell.  Latham beat Boswell with 55% of the vote.  Click here to find out who represents you in Congress.

Iowans like balance - just take a look at how we voted: