Jump to content
Special Election Information: January 26
Voters living in Senate District 41 will go to the polls on Tuesday, January 26, 2021 to select a new state senator.  We wanted to make sure those... Read More...
SPECIAL ELECTION SET: January 26, 2021
Ottumwa physician Mariannette Miller-Meeks has been "provisionally" sworn in as a U.S. Representative, as she awaits the review by a Congressional... Read More...
Many of you have asked what the next legislative session will be like.  Our answer continues to be - who knows!  At this point, we believe the Iowa... Read More...
2021 Committees Assigned
Each legislator serves on several committees - standing committees that deal with policy issues in a certain area, and budget (appropriations)... Read More...
Revenues Holding Steady, State Economy Looking Good
Every year we talk about the way Iowa budgets.  It all starts with the law that only allows the state to spend 99% of the money it collects each... Read More...

Our Network

Legislative Leaders Elected; Looking Ahead at 2021

More articles »
The majority and minority party members of the Iowa Legislature have picked their new leaders. Committee assignments should be coming out in the next few weeks, so stay tuned.  Below are the new leaders - an asterisk (*) means this is a new position for the person.
IOWA SENATE:  There are 32 Republican members in the Iowa Senate, making them the majority party.  There are 18 Democratic members in the Iowa Senate, making them the minority party. 

Senate 2021 Republican Leaders 
  • Brad Zaun* (Urbandale) - President Pro Tempore 
Senate 2021 Democratic Leaders:
  • Zach Wahls* (Coralville) - Senate Minority Leader 
  • Pam Jochum (Dubuque) - Assistant Minority Leader
If Sen. Mariannette Miller-Meeks' Congressional race is upheld, she will resign and a special election will be held. 
If Democrats win, control will change to 31 Rs vs. 19 Ds. If Republicans win, the margin remains 32 Rs vs. 18 Ds.
IOWA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES: There are 59 Republican members in the Iowa House, making them the majority party.  There are 41 Democratic members in the Iowa House, making them the minority party. 

House 2021 Republican Leaders:
  • John Wills (Spirit Lake) - Speaker Pro Tempore=
  • Assistant Majority Leaders TBD 
House 2021 Democratic Leaders:
  • Brian Meyer (Des Moines) - Assistant Minority Leader
  • Eric Gjerde* (Cedar Rapids) - Assistant Minority Leader
Looking ahead, you can look at the tentative session calendar here and pre-filed bills here.
In addition to awaiting House Assistant Majority Leaders and committee assignments, the next major milestone is the December 11 Revenue Estimating Conference. Details on the meeting & virtual links can be found hereThe estimates developed at this meeting will be used by the Governor in setting her budget for Fiscal Year 2022 (July 1 2021-June 30 2022).  These estimates will let the Governor know how much she can plan on spending for the next fiscal year.  Right now, the estimates are projecting a 4% growth in revenues, which translates into an additional $320 million available for spending over current fiscal year levels.  If the numbers look like they are coming in slower, that means less will be available to increase spending.